Retail fireworks stand licenses issued down in 2012 | State Fire Marshal

State Fire Marshal Charles M. Duffy announced today that the number of retail fireworks stand licenses issued in 2012 is down 4.2%, or 39 licenses, from 2011.  A state license is required before a city or county can issue a permit to operate a fireworks stand in Washington.

Licenses are issued by County; with Snohomish County seeing the largest drop in retail fireworks stand licenses issued with seven, followed by Pacific County, six; and King County, five.

Sales of consumer fireworks begin on June 28, 2012, at noon and end on July 5, 2012, at 11:00 pm.  A number of city and counties have restricted or banned the sale and discharge of fireworks.  Be sure to check with your local jurisdiction before using fireworks.

Attending a public display is a safe and fun way to enjoy fireworks.  To learn about a community fireworks display near you, visit our website at

For more information contact your local fire department, or the Office of the State Fire Marshal at (360) 596-3946.

The Office of the State Fire Marshal is a Bureau of the Washington State Patrol, providing fire and life safety services to the citizens of Washington State including inspections of state licensed facilities, plan review of school construction projects, licensing of fire sprinkler contractors and pyrotechnic operators, training Washington State’s firefighters, and collecting emergency response data.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates