New Fire District 37 commissioner sworn in

The Kent Fire Department Regional Fire Authority’s newest Fire District 37 commissioner and governance board member was sworn in at the Jan. 15 meeting.

Harry George Sr. joins the Kent Fire Department RFA after being elected last fall. He replaces Pat Riordan, who retired at the end of 2013 after many years of dedication to the community.

The members of the Kent Fire Department RFA would like to welcome Mr. George and appreciate his support of public.

In addition to the swearing in, several annual awards were presented.

• Officer of the Year – Captain Chris Martin

• Firefighter of the Year – Brian Schoonhoven

• Employee of the Year – Bill Johnson (presented at an earlier event)

• Distinguished Service – Firefighter Kevin O’Keefe

All of the awards are nominated and voted on by the members of the Kent Fire Department RFA.

Kent Fire Department RFA board meetings are held on the first and third Wednesdays of each month, beginning at 5:30 pm. All meetings are open to the public and members of our community are encouraged to attend. Unless otherwise noted, meetings are held at Fire Station 78 (17820 SE 256 Street Covington, WA 98042).

For meeting details, please visit


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates