County Council appoints new committee chairs

The Metropolitan King County Council completed its yearly reorganization Monday by appointing the chairs of the council’s standing committees.

According to a King County press release, the council unanimously approved its selections, which includes vice chair Jane Hague as new chairperson for the Committee of the Whole and Transportation. Additionally, council member Rod Dembowski will the new chair for the Transportation, Economy and Environment Committee. The council also appointed new chairs for two of the regional committees that provide a forum for development and review of countywide plans and policies. Reagan Dunn takes over on the Regional Policy Transit Committee, while Dave Upthegrove, the newest member of the council, will chair the Regional Water Quality Committee.

The rest of the committee chairs will remain the same as in 2013.

“In the spirit of the strategic plan, this council continues to place an important emphasis on regional coordination,” Hague said.

Dembowski said he is excited to take on the challenge of finding a solution to the looming Metro Transit budget shortfall.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates