Kent, Tahoma players named all-league | Prep football

Players from all four of Kent's high schools as well as Tahoma's football teams earned all-league South Puget Sound League North honors this week.

Kentwood kicker Mitchell Cox was named Special Teams Player of the Year, Kentlake quarterback Steffin Church earned Offensive Back of the Year while Tahoma's Dallas Hayes was named Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Additionally, Kentwood's Jackson Huerta was named All Purpose Player of the Year and the Conquerors' Rex Norris was named Head Coach of the Year.

All league honors in no particular order by school


Caleb Mathena, first team defense, honorable mention offense; Nu'u Vaifale, first team defense; Marshall Jones, second team offense, honorable mention defense; Kaleb Smith, honorable mention, defense; Steffin Church, quarterback, first team offense, first team punter; Mason Johnson, lineman, first team offense; Riley Higgins, second team offense; John Morasch, second team offense; Jordan Laurencio, first team special teams, honorable mention offense; Tyler Deskins, honorable mention offense; Gunner Terrio, kicker, honorable mention.


Jackson Huerta, first team defense; Ryan Dozier, first team defense; Terence Grady, first team defense; Dominic Lindstrom, second team defense; Kyle Capperauld, second team, defense; Tim Angevine, honorable mention, defense; Chansen Kalua-Fuimaono, running back, first team offense; Travis Kersey, second team, defense; Dane Manio, honorable mention, offense; Tyler Brown, honorable mention offense; Mitchell Cox, kicker, first team, punter honorable mention; Bryan Mills, snapper, first team special teams.


Elijah Sukah, first team defense; Dallas Hayes, first team defense, first team offense; Cody Abel, lineman, first team offense, honorable mention, defense; Damon Funk, running back, first team, offense; DeShon Williams, wide receiver, first team offense; Shane Nelson, second team, offense; Patrick Ota, honorable mention offense; Aaron Vaughan, honorable mention offense; Easton Cunningham, honorable mention offense; Brandon Scheiber, cover protection, first team special teams.


Randall Cooper, second team defense; Timmy Cordova, second team defense; Quandrell Powell, second team defense; Sai Ta'amu, honorable mention, defense; Thomas Kemp, honorable mention, defense; Treyvonn Wilson, honorable mention, defense; Jaycob Kuhman, honorable mention, defense; Cartez Green, wide receiver, first team offense; Quincy Carter, honorable mention, offense; Vinnie Malietufa, honorable mention offense; Dion Leung, kicker, second team; Kevin Merrill, holder, first team special teams.


Jimmie Davis, running back, first team offense, second team defense; Travis McGuire, second team, defense; Tyler Bailey, second team, defense, honorable mention offense; Danny Badgley, second team offense; Derrick Bell, honorable mention offense; Sebastian Bertulli, honorable mention offense; Austin Olson, honorable mention offense; Kevin Hall, first team special teams.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates