Washington Racing Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Trainer Ben Harris and jockey Ricky Frazier head a stellar field of 2014 Washington Racing Hall of Fame inductees, Emerald Downs announced Tuesday.

Chum Salmon, winner of seven stakes including a last-to-first victory in the 1985 Longacres Mile, was elected in the Male Horse category, and Delicate Vine, the 1986 Washington Horse of the Year and a triple graded winner, won the filly and mare division.

William and Barbara Nelson Jr., breeder of four Washington state champions, will be inducted in the breeding division.

The Washington Racing Hall of Fame’s 12th annual induction ceremony is Saturday, August 16, in the Emerald Room following the day’s races.

Frazier becomes the second jockey to make the Hall of Fame based mainly on accomplishments at Emerald Downs. A native of Arkansas, Frazier*who celebrates his 50th birthday Wednesday*produced one of the most dominant runs in state history, winning five titles in a seven-season span ( 2004-10) including two Longacres Miles. In 2007, Frazier set track records with 157 wins and over $1.6 million in earnings, and also finished first with 12 stakes wins. Frazier won 3,469 races and over $2 million in a career that included riding titles at Sam Houston, Retama Park, Louisiana Downs, Delaware Park and Fresno.

A native of tiny Satus, Wash., Harris was the only trainer in Longacres’ 59-year history to win four straight training titles, including the 1991 meet when his 93 wins shattered the single-season record.  Harris also won four training titles at Yakima Meadows, and his 31 Longacres stakes wins rank No. 9 all-time. Major clients included the late George Layman Jr. and Dr. John Furukawa.

Chum Salmon, a 1980 Washington-bred by Gaelic Dancer-Saree, is considered one of the most exciting runners in state history. Trained by Larry Ross and owned by Chum Salmon Stable, the dark bay or brown horse won 13-of-29 career starts and earned $388,195. His deep closing style produced one of the most electrifying rallies in Longacres Mile history, as the field’s lone Washington-bred inhaled a star-studded group for a $19.20 upset in the 1985 renewal of the Northwest’s greatest race.

Delicate Vine, a 1984 Washington-bred by Knight’s Choice-Fool’s Miss, was one of the nation’s top 2-year-old fillies of 1986. Bred by DanDar Farm, trained by Bobby Frankel, and owned by Frankel, Greg Alsdorf and Jerry and Ann Moss, Delicate Vine showcased her talents across America, winning the Grade 1 Arlington-Washington Lassie Stakes at Arlington Park, Grade 2 Sorority at Monmouth, and Grade 3 Landaluce Stakes at Hollywood Park.

William and Barbara Nelson Jr. owned Gunshy Manor, a 165-acre breeding farm in Redmond, located across Lake Washington east of Seattle. The Nelson’s bred Washington champions Prince Joda, Favored One, Norm’s Nephew and Margo’s Gift. Although both are deceased, the Nelson’s legacy lives on as Favored One’s granddaughter, Lexie Lou, defeated 14 male colts in the 2014 Queen’s Plate.

Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame

Horse (year inducted)
Chum Salmon, (2014-male)/Delicate Vine (2014-filly or mare), Military Hawk (2013-male)/Table Hands (2013-filly or mare),  Hilco Scamper (2012-male)/Rings a Chime (2012-filly or mare), Pataha Prince (2011-male)/Firesweeper (2011-filly or mare), Biggs (2010), Sparrow Castle (2009), Belle of Rainier (2008), Peterhof’s Patea (2007), Sir William (2006), Smogy Dew (2005), Turbulator (2004), Saratoga Passage (2004), Captain Condo (2003), Chinook Pass (2003), Trooper Seven (2003).

Ricky Frazier (2014), Gallyn Mitchell (2013), Paul Frey (2012), Vicky (Aragon) Baze (2011), Joe Baze (2010), Lennie Knowles (2009), Larry Pierce (2008), John Adams (2007), Albert Johnson (2006), Basil James (2005), Russell Baze (2004), Gary Baze (2003), Ralph Neves (2003), Gary Stevens (2003).

Ben Harris (2014), Howard Belvoir (2013), Wayne Branch (2012), Tim McCanna (2011), Bill McMeans (2010), Kathy Walsh (2009), Glen Williams (2008), R.H. McDaniel (2007), Frances Keller (2006), Bud Klokstad (2005), Charles Whittingham (2004), Allen Drumheller (2003), Jim Penney (2003), Tom Smith (2003).

William C. & Barbara Nelson Jr. (2014), Czech-Mate Farm (2013), George Newell (2012), Grousemont Farm (2011), Les Turner (2010), Wilbur & Marianne Stadelman (2009), Frank Brewster (2008), Dan Agnew (2007), C.J. Sebastian (2006), Guy & Barbara Roberts (2005), George Drumheller (2004), Herb Armstrong (2003), Jerre Paxton (2003).

Lifetime Achievement
Ralph Vacca (2013), Jack Hodge (2012), Karen & Mickey Taylor (2011), James Seabeck (2010), Pete Pedersen (2008), Ron Crockett (2004), Joe Gottstein (2003).

2014 Washington Racing Hall of Fame Finalists
Male Horse: Chum Salmon, Fast Parade, Handy N Bold, Maxwell G.
Filly & Mare: Delicate Vine, Flag De Lune, Snow Plow, Whang Bang
Jockey: Doug Dodson, Ricky Frazier, Pepper Porter, Richard Wright
Trainer: Ben Harris, Cecil Jolly, Bob McMeans, Marion L. Smith
Breeder: Bob Edwards, C. F. Flower, Maurice McGrath, Mr. & Mrs. William C. Nelson Jr.

Washington Racing Hall of Fame voting is composed of 16 voters, four each from the WTBOA, HBPA, Emerald Downs and Media. Four finalists were chosen in each category.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates