Emerald Downs announces 70-day live racing season for 2018

  • Friday, November 24, 2017 12:43pm
  • Sports

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 70-day live racing season in 2018, with opening day Sunday, April 22 and continuing through Sunday, Sept. 30.

The Washington Horse Racing Commission approved the race dates at its meeting Thursday at Auburn City Hall.

Opening on Sunday is a first for Emerald Downs, and also the lone day of racing opening week. The track then offers Saturday-Sunday racing April 28-29 and May 5-6, with Friday racing beginning May 11 and continuing throughout the season.

Post times are pretty much the same as previous years: 2 p.m. Sundays and 6:30 p.m. Fridays. Saturdays, however, are slightly different in 2018. The first seven Saturdays, April 28 through June 9, feature a 2 p.m. post, and the final 16 Saturdays, June 16 through Sept. 29, have a 5 p.m. post time.

The 83rd Longacres Mile (Grade 3) goes to the post on Sunday, Aug. 12.

2018 Emerald Downs Live Race Days

April: Sunday, April 22, 2 p.m.; Saturday, April 28, 2 p.m.; Sunday, April 29, 2 p.m..

May: Saturday, May 5, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 6, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 11, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 12, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 13, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 18, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 19, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 20, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 25, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 26, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 27, 2 p.m.; Monday, May 28, 2 p.m..

June: Friday, June 1, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 2, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 3, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 8, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 9, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 10, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 15, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 16, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 17, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 22, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 23, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 24, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 29, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 30, 5 p.m..

July: Sunday, July 1, 2 p.m.; Tuesday, July 3, 5 p.m.; Friday, July 6, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 7, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 8, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 13, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 14, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 15, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 20, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 21, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 22, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 27, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 28, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 29, 2 p.m..

August: Friday, Aug 3, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 4, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 5, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 10, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 11, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 12, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 17, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 18, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 19, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 24, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug 25, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug 26, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug 31, 6:30 p.m..

September: Saturday, Sept 1, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 2, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 7, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 8, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 9, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 14, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 15, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 16, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 21, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 22, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 23, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept 28, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept 29, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept 30, 2 p.m..

More in Sports

Justin Olds and Miguel McCoy from Maple Valley, stand side by side, showing off their gold medals. Photo by Kayse Angel
Two Maple Valley teens take home the gold

Justin Olds and Miguel McCoy, both of Maple Valley, participated in the 2018 Special Olympics and both won gold medals.

Vince Olsen delivers a pitch during the District 10 championship game. Olsen struck out seven. RACHEL CIAMPI, Auburn Reporter
Kent falls to Auburn in classic duel for District 10 title

All-Stars come up short in pursuit of a state tournament spot

Third time proves charm for Seattle Seawolves, win first ever Major League Rugby championship title

Seattle rallies in second half to clinch coveted win over Glendale in league final

Gymnasts pose in their respected placements. Submitted photo
Local youth gymnasts reach the big time

Nine kids from Summit Gymnastics went to the USA Gymnastics Regional Championships.

Season ends after tough losses in regionals

Tahoma and Kentlake secured a spot in the 4A baseball state tournament.… Continue reading

May Madness begins today for Tahoma, Kentwood

The top seven 4A softball teams from the West Central District/Southwest District… Continue reading

Kentridges Solomon Hines dashes to victory in the 100 meters at 10.87 seconds. RACHEL CIAMPI, Kent Reporter
Tahoma boys, girls win league

Top qualifiers compete at districts May 17 and May 19 at French Field

Photos by Kayse Angel
Season ends for Falcons, Conks and Bears|Photo Gallery

Following Tuesday’s loser out, first round West Central/Southwest matches — Kentlake, Kentwood… Continue reading

Tahoma senior Nick Dazell pitches during Tuesday’s 5-4 win over Kentridge. Photo by Kayse Angel
Tahoma heads to district semifinals

The Bears advance. In a district tournament match up against the Kentridge… Continue reading

Conks soccer leads NPSL

The Kentwood Conquerors boys soccer team currently holds the first place spot… Continue reading

File photo of Jordan Fong. Photo by Rachel Ciampi
Outstanding teen moves onto Stanford

The Kentlake student has placed first in all three of the track events that she competes in, is a straight-A student and does community service in her spare time.

Gold Rush Dancer won last year’s Longacre Mile by four and three-quarter lengths, beating out Mach One Rules. Photo Courtesy of Phil Ziegier
Familiar names among expected stars at Emerald Downs

Each year at every track there’s new faces among the horse population… Continue reading